AAS honours CAPRISA scientists

31 January 2019

Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karim received the African Academy of Science (AAS) Women Fellows in Leadership Recognition Award for her significant  contributions to science in Africa and in her capacity as Vice President of Southern Africa on the  AAS Governing Council and Professor Lynn Morris, honorary senior scientist at CAPRISA and Interim Executive Director at the National Institute of Communicable Diseases was inducted as a new Fellow of the AAS at an AAS General Assembly Meeting, held on 10-11 December 2018 in Pretoria. The eleventh general assembly of the AAS was themed: “Our history, impact and the future” was officially opened by the South African Minister of Science and Technology, Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane. In her address she said the AAS had “a crucial role to play in advancing African scientific enterprise”.

Photo: (L-R) Ameenah Gurib-Fakim (former President of Mauritius), Professor Felix Dapare Dakora (President of the African Academy of Sciences), Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane (Minister of Science and Technology) and Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karim (Associate Scientific Director CAPRISA).