2018 TWAS awards presented to scientists

5 December 2018

We congratulate Professor Lynn Morris, CAPRISA honorary senior scientist, (centre), Dr Barbara Burmen, senior research officer at the Kenya Medical Research Institute (right) and Associate Professor Sedaminou Gbenoudon at the Université d'Abomey-Calavi, Abomey-Calavi, Benin (L), who were awarded prizes for research excellence from The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) on 27 November at the TWAS 14th general conference held in Trieste, Italy.

Morris received the prestigious TWAS 2018 Prize in Medical Sciences for her “pioneering studies on the neutralising antibody response to HIV infection that has provided fundamental insights for HIV vaccine development”. She is the interim Executive Director at the National Institute of Communicable Diseases (NICD) and Research Professor at the University of Witwatersrand.

The TWAS-Abdool Karim Prize in Biological Sciences were awarded to Burmen for her  “innovations in the clinical practice, policy and research mentorship, focussed on HIV and tuberculosis”, and to Gbenoudon for her “particular devotion to research in the field of immunobiology and for results that change the perception of severe malaria disease”.  This prize is sponsored by Salim & Quarraisha Abdool Karim.